The Chair

Context and issues

Socio-environmental accounting is increasingly becoming a key socioeconomic issue, particularly in the context of ecological transition, whether at the level of organizations, territories or states.

In France, a number of regulations already require a number of companies to make an extra-financial performance statement in their annual report and, in general, encourage greater communication on these aspects.

The issue of socio-environmental accounting is thus highlighted in the recent report (January 2018) of the HighLevel Expert Group on Sustainable Finance (HLEG), which recommends that the European Union update its guidelines on corporate financial statements to include extra-financial information.
Similarly, recommendation No. 10 of the Notat/Senard report ("The company, an object of collective interest") proposes to: "Undertake a concerted study on the conditions that accounting standards must meet in order to serve the general interest and the consideration of social and environmental issues".

In this context, several models and approaches to corporate socio-environmental accounting exist and are emerging, but they remain extremely controversial in their ability to address a real ecological transformation of companies, to allow adaptation to a renewal of corporate governance and to articulate the extra-financial issues of the company with those of the territories and states.

In particular, the proposed models are generally conceived in a "weak sustainability" vision, with little scientific biophysical basis, disconnected from the reality of the ecosystems and societal systems in which companies live.

Beyond the perimeter of a given company, there is a major need to develop new accounts at the scale of collective ecosystem management (taken in the broad sense: a lake, a wetland, a watershed, an ecological corridor, a bird population), where the achievement of measurable ecological performance is at stake.

In fact, compliance with ecological limits and thresholds and the achievement of results in improving the state of a given ecosystem goes beyond the company’s sole scope of responsibility and action. The creation or destruction of ecological value results from interactions between the company and other private or public organisations with often divergent interests and strategies, which impact the ecosystem or contribute in a differentiated and often uncoordinated manner to its management.

The aim of ecosystem-centric accounting is therefore to operationalise the preservation of the natural capital of our territories while recognising the diversity of the ecological issues involved and the contexts of action. This recent field of research and innovation is based in particular on an interdisciplinary dialogue between accounting and conservation sciences and on the experimentation of an accounting model specifically designed to equip the inter-organizational management of ecosystems.

As far as national accounting is concerned, the main indicators of wealth - and in particular GDP (gross domestic product) - appear today to be unable to reflect changes in the ecological stakes of our societies. Thus, the notion of a country’s wealth has evolved considerably over the past few years, leading France, in particular, through the law of 13 April 2015, to consider new indicators to measure wealth in the definition of its public policies. This follows in particular the recommendations of the Report of the Commission on the Measurement of Economic Performance and Social Progress (known as the "Stiglitz-Sen-Fitoussi Report" published in 2008).
In this context, the Ministry in charge of the Environment and national and international statistical agencies are working on the development of new national accounting standards. This work is taking place in particular within the framework of the UN System of Economic and Environmental Accounting (SEEA), which is based on the concepts, classifications and definitions of the systems of national accounts. These new tools will play an important role in determining future macroeconomic sustainability criteria. It therefore seems important for the Chair to grasp the respective scopes as well as the limitations of these initiatives in a context where there are alternative visions of what sustainability refers to and where the Chair advocates a strong sustainability approach.

The aim of the Chair is therefore to enable extensive research, shared in particular by its partners, in order to initiate responses to these issues, and thus to make possible a genuine ecological transition with strong sustainability of organizations, territories and countries, in an articulation ranging from the company to society as a whole.

Presentation

Accounting framing

This Chair aims to work simultaneously on the accounting of organizations (especially companies), ecosystem accounting and national accounting, allowing an articulation between these different levels and approaches, as well as a dialogue between different disciplines (accounting, economics, ecosystem management, etc.).
This articulation tends to orient the Chair, at the organizational level, towards a positioning in terms of external accounting, i.e. accounting systems oriented towards external information, which includes the extension of general accounting to environmental issues.

Conceptual framing

The Chair is part of a vision of so-called "strong" sustainability (as opposed to "weak" sustainability). Strong sustainability requires not allowing a priori substitutability between financial, natural and human capital. More broadly, it refers to the idea of certain needs for environmental preservation.
The role of accounting systems as vectors of strong sustainability must therefore be conceived, hence the name "ecological accounting".

What is not ecological accounting in strong sustainability according to the chair:

  • Putting a price on nature, corresponding to the services and productivity for human beings that nature would provide;
  • Taking into account only the positive (opportunities) or negative (risks) impacts that the environment has on society or business ("outside-in" vision);
  • To represent the environment as natural capital - if one subscribes to the use of this term - composed of assets - whether substitutable or non-substitutable;
  • To propose a new way of creating simple financial opportunities.

What is ecological accounting in strong sustainability according to the Chair:

  • Evaluating the costs of actions needed to achieve potentially dynamic and evolving ecological objectives;
    • These objectives of good ecological or conservation status are defined on the basis of scientific and political conventions;
    • This good ecological status allows for potential compensation, based solely on a principle of non-anthropocentric biophysical equivalence and justified in the light of scientific ecological standards.
  • Understanding natural capital - or rather natural capitals - as the recognition of the capital character of the natural entities to be preserved and an obligation to preserve them;
  • Taking into account the negative or positive impacts that society or business has on the environment ("inside-out" vision);
  • To design a common language to initiate a new dialogue between the actors of the society concerning: the relation to the environment, the costs associated with it and the potential new individual and collective consents to be paid;
  • To bring out a way of creating new sources of income, based on this new dialogue, by rethinking the relationship between society and business and nature.

This chair therefore aims to be a multi-stakeholder platform (academic, professional, institutional, etc.) for the development, promotion and experimentation of ecological accounting in strong sustainability.

Objectives of the project

Develop, model, promote and experiment with strong sustainability accounting, to put accounting systems at the service of an ecological transition.

Develop

New accounting methods for an ecological transition

Accompany

By means of accounting systems, all forms of organisations in their development strategies aiming at a strong sustainability objective

Raising awareness and convincing

Of the importance of accounting in the ecological transition and its ability to integrate strong sustainability

Being a platform

For exchanges, animation and communication for the actors interested in research on these issues

The team

Co-responsible for the Chair

Harold Levrel > Professor at AgroParisTech (SESG Department), Researcher at CIRED. Co-head of the Chair. In charge of the "national" research axis.
Alexandre Rambaud > Lecturer at AgroParisTech (SESG Department), researcher at CIRED, associate researcher at Paris-Dauphine University (DRM - M-Lab). Co-head of the Chair. In charge of the "organizational" research axis.

Clément Feger > Lecturer at AgroParisTech, associate researcher at the University of Montpellier. In charge of the "ecosystem-centered" research axis.

Chair coordinator > Aurélien Oosterlinck

Doctoral students funded by the Chair >
Clément Surun : Articulation of ecological debts and claims from the organization to the national level > More details on the project
Valentine Prévot : Study and experimentation of the CARE model at a winery case study > Study and experimentation of the CARE model at a winery case study > More details on the project
Clément Boyer : Development of the CARE (Comprehensive Accounting in Respect of Ecology) accounting model and ecosystem-centric accounting: Case studies of agricultural farms > More details on the project

Adrien Comte, Associate Post-Doctoral Fellow, MAIA (Mapping and Assessment for Integrated ecosystem Accounting) project; Principal researcher, ESGAP project > More details on the project

Academic partners

Supporting partners

La Chaire

Le contexte et les enjeux

La comptabilité socio-environnementale devient de plus en plus un enjeu-clé-socio-économique, notamment dans le contexte de la transition écologique, que ce soit au niveau des organisations, des territoires ou des états.

En France, plusieurs textes réglementaires obligent déjà un certain nombre d’entreprises à établir dans leur rapport annuel une déclaration de performance extra - financière (reporting extra - financier) et de manière générale, incitent à une communication renforcée sur ces aspects.

L’enjeu de la comptabilité socio - environnementale est ainsi souligné dans le récent rapport (janvier 2018) du « High Level Expert Group on Sustainable Finance » (HLEG) où il est recommandé que l’Union Européenne mette à jour ses orientations concernant les états financiers des entreprises pour y intégrer des informations extra - financières.
De la même façon, la recommandation n° 10 du rapport Notat/Senard (« L’entreprise, objet d’intérêt collectif ») propose d’ : « Engager une étude concertée sur les conditions auxquelles les normes comptables doivent répondre pour servir l’intérêt général et la considération des enjeux sociaux et environnementaux ».

Dans ce contexte, plusieurs modèles et approches de la comptabilité socio - environnementale d’entreprise existent et émergent, mais ils restent extrêmement controversés dans leur capacité à aborder une réelle transformation écologique des entreprises, à permettre une adaptation à un renouvellement de la gouvernance des entreprises et à articuler les enjeux extra - financiers de l’entreprise avec ceux des territoires et des états.

En particulier, les modèles proposés sont généralement pensés dans une vision en « soutenabilité faible » , avec peu de bases biophysiques scientifiques , en déconnexion avec la réalité des écosystèmes et des systèmes sociétaux dans lesquelles vivent les entreprises.

Au-delà du périmètre d’une entreprise donnée, il existe un besoin important de développement de nouvelles comptabilités à l’échelle de la gestion collective des écosystèmes (pris au sens large : un lac, une zone humide, un bassin versant, un corridor écologique, une population d’oiseau), où se jouent la réalisation de performances écologiques mesurables.

En effet, le respect des limites et seuils écologiques et l’obtention de résultats sur l’amélioration de l’état d’un écosystème donné dépasse le seul périmètre de responsabilité et d’action de l’entreprise. La création ou destruction de valeur écologique résulte des jeux d’interactions entre l’entreprise et d’autres organisations privées ou publiques aux intérêts et aux stratégies souvent divergentes, et qui impactent l’écosystème ou contribuent de manière différenciée et le plus souvent non coordonnée à sa gestion.

Les comptabilités écosystème-centrées ont donc pour finalité d’opérationnaliser la préservation du capital naturel de nos territoires tout en reconnaissant la diversité des enjeux écologiques concernés et des contextes d’action. Ce champ récent de recherche et d’innovation s’appuie en particulier sur un dialogue interdisciplinaire entre comptabilité et sciences de la conservation et sur l’expérimentation d’un modèle comptable conçu spécifiquement pour équiper la gestion inter-organisationnelle des écosystèmes.

Du côté de la comptabilité nationale les principaux indicateurs de richesse - et notamment le PIB (produit intérieur brut) - apparaissent aujourd’hui incapables de refléter les évolutions des enjeux écologiques de nos sociétés. Ainsi la notion de richesse d’un pays a fortement évoluée au cours des années passées, conduisant notamment la France à travers la loi du 13 avril 2015 à considérer de nouveaux indicateurs pour mesurer la richesse dans la définition de ses politiques publiques. Cela fait suite notamment aux recommandations du Rapport de la Commission sur la mesure des performances économiques et du progrès social (dit « Rapport Stiglitz-Sen-Fitoussi » publié en 2008).
Dans ce contexte, le ministère en charge de l’environnement et les agences statistiques nationales et internationales, travaillent au développement de nouveaux référentiels comptables nationaux. Ces travaux ont lieu en particulier dans le cadre du système de comptabilité économique et environnementale (SCEE) de l’ONU qui s’appuie sur les concepts, les classifications et les définitions des systèmes de comptes nationaux. Ces nouveaux outils vont fortement contribuer à déterminer les futurs critères de durabilité macro-économique. Il semble dès lors important, dans le cadre de la chaire, de saisir les portées respectives tout autant que les limites de ces initiatives dans un contexte où il existe des visions alternatives de ce à quoi renvoient la durabilité et où la chaire défend une approche par la durabilité forte.

La finalité de la chaire est donc de permettre une recherche d’ampleur, partagée notamment entre ses partenaires, afin d’initier des réponses à ces problématiques, et ainsi de rendre possible une véritable transition écologique en soutenabilité forte des organisations, des territoires et des pays, dans une articulation allant de l’entreprise à la société dans son ensemble.

Présentation

Cadrage comptable

Cette Chaire vise à travailler simultanément sur la comptabilité des organisations (notamment des entreprises), la comptabilité écosystémique et la comptabilité nationale, permettant une articulation entre ces niveaux et approches différents, ainsi qu’un dialogue entre différentes disciplines (comptabilité, économie, gestion des écosystèmes, etc.)
Cette articulation tend à orienter la chaire, au niveau organisationnel, vers un positionnement en termes de comptabilité externe, c’est - à - dire de systèmes comptables tournés vers l’information externe, ce qui englobe l’extension de la comptabilité générale aux enjeux environnementaux.

Cadrage “conceptuel”

La chaire s’inscrit dans une vision de soutenabilité dite forte (par opposition à la soutenabilité « faible »). La soutenabilité forte requiert de ne pas autoriser a priori de substituabilités entre capitaux financiers, naturels et humains. De manière plus large, elle renvoie à l’idée de certaines nécessités de préservations environnementales.
Il s’agit ainsi de concevoir le rôle des systèmes comptables comme vecteurs de soutenabilité forte, d’où la dénomination « comptabilité écologique ».

Ce que n’est pas une comptabilité écologique en durabilité forte selon la chaire :

-  Donner un prix à la nature, correspondant aux services et à la productivité pour les êtres humains, que fournirait cette dernière ;
-  Prendre en compte uniquement des impacts positifs (opportunités) ou négatifs (risques) que l’environnement fait porter sur la société ou l’entreprise (vision « extérieure-intérieure ») ;
-  Représenter l’environnement comme un capital naturel - si on souscrit à l’emploi de ce terme - composé d’actifs - qu’ils soient substituables ou non-substituables ;
-  Proposer une nouvelle manière de créer de simples opportunités financières.

Ce qu’est une comptabilité écologique en durabilité forte selon la chaire :

-  Évaluer les coûts des actions nécessaires à l’atteinte d’objectifs écologiques, potentiellement dynamiques et évolutifs ;
o Ces objectifs de bon état écologique ou de conservation sont définis à partir de conventions scientifiques et politiques ;
o Ce bon état écologique admet des compensations potentielles, fondées uniquement sur un principe d’équivalence biophysique non anthropocentrée et justifiée au regard des standards de l’écologie scientifique
-  Comprendre le capital naturel - ou plutôt les capitaux naturels – comme la reconnaissance du caractère capital des entités naturelles à préserver et d’une obligation de préservation de ces dernières ;
-  Prendre en compte les impacts négatifs ou positifs que la société ou l’entreprise fait porter sur l’environnement (vision « intérieur-extérieure ») ;
-  Concevoir un langage commun pour initier un nouveau dialogue entre les acteurs de la société concernant : le rapport à l’environnement, les coûts qui y sont associés et les potentiels nouveaux consentements individuels et collectifs à payer ;
-  Faire émerger une manière de créer de nouvelles sources de revenus, sur la base de ce nouveau dialogue, en repensant le rapport de la société et de l’entreprise à la nature.

Cette chaire a donc pour vocation d’être une plate - forme multi - acteurs (académiques, professionnels, institutionnels, etc. ), pour le développement, la promotion et l’expérimentation de la comptabilité écologique en soutenabilité forte.

Les objectifs

Développer, modéliser, promouvoir et expérimenter des comptabilités en durabilité forte, pour mettre les systèmes comptables au service d’une transition écologique.

Développer

de nouvelles méthodes comptables au service d’une transition écologique

Accompagner

au moyen des systèmes comptables, toutes les formes d’organisations dans leurs stratégies de développement visant un objectif de durabilité forte

Sensibiliser et convaincre

de l’importance de la comptabilité dans la transition écologique et de sa capacité à intégrer la durabilité forte

Être une plateforme

d’échanges, d’animation et de communication pour les acteurs intéressés par la recherche sur ces enjeux

L’équipe

Co-responsables de la Chaire

Harold Levrel > Professeur des universités à AgroParisTech (Département SESG), chercheur au CIRED. Co-responsable de la Chaire, responsable de l’axe de recherche "comptabilité nationale".
Alexandre Rambaud > Maître de conférences à AgroParisTech (Département SESG), chercheur au CIRED, chercheur associé à l’université Paris-Dauphine (DRM - M-Lab). Co-responsable de la Chaire, responsable de l’axe de recherche "comptabilité des organisations".

Clément Feger > Maitre de conférence à AgroParisTech, chercheur associé à l’Université de Montpellier. Responsable de l’axe de recherche "écosystème-centré".

Coordinateur de la Chaire > Aurélien Oosterlinck

Doctorants / doctorantes financé.e.s par la chaire >
Clément Surun : Articulation des dettes et créances écologiques de l’échelle de l’organisation jusqu’à l’échelle nationale > Plus de détails sur le projet
Valentine Prévot : Étude et expérimentation du modèle CARE à un cas d’exploitations viticoles > Plus de détails sur le projet

Chercheurs associés > Adrien Comte, post-doctorant, projet MAIA (Mapping and Assessment for Integrated ecosystem Accounting) > Plus de détails sur le projet

Partenaires Académiques

Partenaires Mécènes