Projects

Projects carried by the Chair

The projects carried out by the Chair are financed by the Chair and aligned with the objectives set out in the project framework note. A first objective is to participate in the transformation of accounting systems, in their aims and structure, so that they become decision-making tools for the benefit of living beings (human and non-human), in a demanding and fundamental logic of strong sustainability. A second objective, inseparable and complementary, is to ensure the articulation of these accounts from the organisational to the national level. Ecosystem accounts or " ecosystems management centered” scale will make it possible to ensure this connection, by organising the individual and collective responsibilities of actors in the same territory, for the purposes of collective ecosystem management.

Thesis 1: Study and articulation of ecological debts and claims from the organization to the national scale

PhD student: Clément Surun
Graduate school: ABIES-AgroParisTech
Directors: Harold Levrel (thesis Director), Clément Feger (co-director)
Start date: April 2019

Issue

Research and development of a coherent articulation between the micro (organisations) and macro (national) levels of ecological accounting under the prism of ecological debts and claims.

Summary of the thesis project

The purpose of this thesis is to work on the articulation between the great diversity of forms taken by external reporting of companies and the definition of conventions and nomenclatures structuring the central and satellite accounts of national accounting, but also to test the information of ecological accounts at these two scales. Indeed, how can the impacts measured and reported by each organisation or sector of activity at an individual level be assessed at an aggregate level? In relation to what limits and standards are set or negotiated at the national level? In order to carry out this work, one or more case studies will be mobilised, the objective of which will be to test the feasibility of this articulation and the necessary adaptations.

Thesis 2: Study and experimentation of the CARE model at a winery case study

PhD student: Valentine Prévot
Graduate school: SHS-University of Reims Champagne-Ardenne
Directors: Franck-Dominique Vivien (thesis Director), Alexandre Rambaud (co-director)
Start date: October 2019

Issue
Study the application of the CARE (Comprehensive Accounting in Respect of Ecology) accounting model (Rambaud & Richard, 2015; Richard, 2012; Richard, Bensadon, & Rambaud, 2018) in the case of wine farms in Remy. The land is provided by LVMH, a partner of the "Ecological Accounting" chair.

Summary of the thesis project
The thesis studies the implementation of the CARE accounting model in the context of wine farms in the Rémi region. To do so, it aims at:

  • Provide a study of soil capital and related maintenance costs;
  • Conduct an economic, accounting and ecological analysis of the relationship between soil maintenance and land use on wineries, based on CARE’s conceptual framework;
  • Cross-reference financial and extra-financial data (within CARE’s conceptual framework);
  • Theoretically and methodologically deepen the CARE model.

Research paper 1 (Master 2): COP 15 for biodiversity and ecological accounting: what synergies?

Student: Clément Boyer
Academic institution: Paris-Dauphine University
Direction: Alexandre Rambaud (dissertation Director), Clément Feger & Harold Levrel (co-directors)
Period : April-September 2020

Subject:

Assess how, in the decision-making context of COP15, it is possible to make proposals on ecological accounting that can represent a real lever for change at different levels of governance. This will result in the construction of a strong mapping of institutional initiatives on ecological accounting for sustainability. A significant amount of time will be devoted to interactions with the academic bearers of the Chair and with other actors working on these subjects. Links will be made between the Chair’s scientific projects/resources and those associated with the Chair, and the political stakes in terms of biodiversity, as brought forward in the framework of the CBD COP.
The aim is to produce a document that highlights:
- The innovations/proposals that can be identified in 2020 in terms of ecological accounting, at the three scales (organization, ecosystem, State) ;
- To discuss these proposals in the light of the objectives set by COP15;
- To highlight the adequacy or inadequacy between the COP15 targets for biodiversity and proposals for ecological accounting;
- To make proposals emanating from the Chair’s scientific project.

Development and experimentation of the ESGAP tool in New Caledonia

Development and experimentation of the ESGAP tool in New Caledonia, in collaboration with the Agence Française de Développement (AFD), WWF France, University College of London (UCL).

Ecological Accounting Chair:
Harold Levrel > Project leader
Adrien Comte > Main researcher
Clément Surun > Technical Support

Period : 2020-2021

Project summary

Adrien Comte and Clément Surun are carrying out a study whose objective is to build a dashboard of sustainability indicators for New Caledonia, the ESGAP (Environmental Sustainability Gap). This study is carried out in the framework of a research partnership with AFD and WWF, for a period of 6 months. ESGAP, initially developed by Paul Ekins’ team (UCL), is similar to a simplified system of national accounts because it aims at a certain exhaustiveness and there is coherence between the environmental indicators chosen: sustainability of resource use, level of pollution that the environment can eliminate without damage, state of biodiversity, impacts on human health. Moreover, the explicit reference to scientific objectives (global limits, critical natural capital thresholds) and the way in which the final indicator is aggregated classify the GPAHS as highly sustainable. Fieldwork consists of collecting the necessary data, adapting the tool to local needs and discussing its sustainability over time. Thus, several core indicators will be created. The method and the pilot built will be transmitted to local actors for sustainability.

Thesis 3: Development of the CARE accounting model and ecosystem-centric accounting: the case of agricultural farms

Phd student: Clément Boyer
Graduate school: DRM-Paris Dauphine University
Directors: Frédérique Déjean (Thesis Director), Alexandre Rambaud (co-director)
Start date: November 2020

Issue
Development of CARE multi-capital accounting, in connection with ecosystem accounting centred on the Envol farm - and other farms in the SESAME perimeter - on the territory of the Cœur d’Essonne conurbation community and its partners.

Summary of the thesis project
The thesis is part of a research project entitled "Compter autrement, compter ce qui compte vraiment", carried out by the Ecological Accounting Chair (AgroParisTech, Université Paris-Dauphine and Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne) and whose scientific director is Alexandre Rambaud.

The doctoral student’s objective over 3 years is to :
- Deepen the question of natural capital, in the case of the Sesame project and thus
to develop the "natural capital" component of CARE’s experimentation;
- To identify the natural capitals at stake in the enterprises concerned, to define them
methodically, assess their maintenance costs and the types of uses of this capital;
- To analyse the obstacles of this model on the question of "natural capital" when it is put into practice and to deduce methodological recommendations. Participate in the theoretical and practical development of the CARE model on the issue of "capital".
natural" ;
- For this reason:
o Develop the basis for an analytical accounting system linked to CARE, capable of
monitor the evolution of business models (to do so, it will be possible to
study and deepen the links between CARE and IDEA) ;
o Include the study of natural capitals in the development of an
ecosystem-centric management accounting

Projects associated with the Chair

Projects associated with the Chair represent all projects involving one or more members of the Chair, in collaboration with one or more partner or non-partner structures of the Chair. These projects are financed partially or entirely through external funding, and deal with themes of interest to the Chair, according to a strong sustainability principle. These projects may take the form of working groups, research projects (through theses, post-doctorates) or the organization and running of scientific seminars and colloquia.

“Economy and Biodiversity” working group

Steering of the "Economy and Biodiversity" working group (WG) in association with the National Biodiversity Observatory (NBO) of the French Office for Biodiversity (FOB)

Chair in Ecological Accounting:
Harold Levrel > Co-Facilitator of the WG, expert in the economics of biodiversity
Aurélien Oosterlinck > Co-Facilitator and coordinator of the WG, member of the NBO editorial committee

NBO:
Julien Massetti > NBO strategy project manager
Stanislas Wroza > NBO Operational Coordination Project Manager

Period: 2020-2022

Project Summary

The "Economy and Biodiversity" working group, launched in October 2019 for an initial period of 3 years, has set itself the task of developing economic and operational indicators of biodiversity, capable of:
- Take account of the economy’s dependence on biodiversity
- Monitoring economic pressures on biodiversity
- Ensuring the monitoring of public policy objectives in terms of biodiversity
Communicating on issues deemed central and priority to the general public and decision-makers
- Serve as decision support tools

The group brings together a wide range of stakeholders, including: researchers, economists, ecologists, SD / CSR officers, members of the statistical service of the Ministry in charge of the environment, the French Office for Biodiversity (OFB), consulting firms.

It meets 3 times a year. The indicators are developed or updated in the framework of the WG meetings and then submitted for evaluation and validation to the ONB’s editorial committee, before being published. The set of indicators is then screened and ranked according to various criteria (relevance, robustness, objectivity) by the Foundation for Research on Biodiversity (FRB) within the framework of the Technical and Scientific Council (CRT). The indicator sheets, as well as other WG products, are posted on the ONB website. > ONB Indicators

End of studies report: "Theoretical reflections on the articulation of the ecosystem-centric management accounting model with the CARE model"

Student: Maria Vio Bianca Coronel Fernandez
Etablishment: AgroParisTech
Director: Clément Feger (thesis director), Alexandre Rambaud (co-director)
Period: May-September 2020

Subject

The aim is to continue the work already begun to link the ecosystem-centred management accounting approach and the CARE approach. The challenge is to move towards a hybrid accounting system in order to organize the consideration and conservation of natural entities from the corporate level to the collective management of ecosystems. The work will contribute to discuss the theoretical bases of such a reconciliation and to establish a first conceptual scheme articulating the two proposed accounting models. This theoretical work will be illustrated on the basis of simplified cases.

> Read the publication

Post-doctoral - MAIA Project

Chercheur de la Chaire: Harold Levrel (AgroParisTech, CIRED)
Chercheur associé : Adrien Comte, post-doctoral fellow (CIRED)
Period: 2019-2021

Project Summary

The MAIA project (Mapping and Assessment for Integrated ecosystem Accounting) is a European research project that aims to test ecosystem and natural capital accounts and to make them sustainable in the national accounting systems of the member countries of the European Union.

MAIA is a European research project H2020, which starts in 2019 for a duration of 4 years. Coordinated by Wageningen University in the Netherlands, it brings together partners from 10 European countries, including research organisations, but also statistical institutes and European organisations (e.g. Eurostat). The aim of the project is to carry out experiments with the methodology developed by the United Nations, the SEEA-EEA (System for Environment-Economic Accounting - Experimental Ecosystem Accounts) in order to refine this methodology to better connect ecosystem assessments to traditional economic accounting. This goal has four objectives:

1) To establish national and international networks between statistical institutes, other branches of government, and experts working on ecological economics and ecosystems.
2) To test and evaluate the approaches being developed to compile accounts under the UN SEEA-EEA.
3) To produce technical documents and share experiences to improve the development of ecosystem accounts.
4) To improve access to databases necessary for the development of ecosystem accounting.

Case studies in partner countries will be carried out to achieve these four objectives. In France, AgroParisTech, as part of a collaboration between the CIRED laboratory, the Ministry for Ecological and Solidarity Transition, as well as other academic and public partners, will carry out a study on the accounting of marine ecosystems. This will involve developing accounts of the extent of marine ecosystems, their condition, and the economic cost of degrading these ecosystems.

The kick-off meeting of the project took place at Wageningen University, in the Netherlands, from January 30 to 31, 2019. This meeting allowed all the European partners to meet, to plan the project activities, to coordinate between the teams to collaborate effectively, and to exchange on the experiments in progress in the various member countries of the European Union.

Projets

Projets portés par la Chaire

Les projets portés par la Chaire sont financés par la Chaire et alignés sur les objectifs fixés par la note de cadrage du projet. Un premier objectif est de participer à la transformation des systèmes de comptabilité, dans leurs finalités et dans leur structure, afin qu’ils deviennent des outils d’aide à la décision au bénéfice du vivant (humain et non humain), dans une logique exigeante et fondamentale de durabilité forte. Un deuxième objectif, indissociable et complémentaire, est d’assurer l’articulation de ces comptes de l’échelle organisationnelle jusqu’à l’échelle nationale. Les comptes écosystémiques ou "écosystèmes centrés", permettront d’assurer cette connexion, en organisant les responsabilités individuelles et collectives d’acteurs d’un même territoire, à des fins de gestions collectives d’un écosystème.

Thèse 1 : Étude et articulation des dettes et créances écologiques de l’échelle de l’organisation à l’échelle nationale

Doctorant : Clément Surun
École doctorale : ABIES-AgroParisTech
Direction : Harold Levrel (Directeur de thèse), Clément Feger (co-directeur)
Début : Avril 2019

Problématique

Recherche et développement d’une articulation cohérente entre le niveau micro (organisations) et macro (échelle nationale) de la comptabilité écologique sous le prisme des dettes et créances écologiques.

Résumé du projet de thèse

L’objet de cette thèse est de travailler sur l’articulation entre la grande diversité des formes prises par le reporting externe des entreprises et la définition des conventions et des nomenclatures structurant les comptes centraux et satellites de la comptabilité nationale, mais aussi de tester le renseignement des comptes écologiques à ces deux échelles. Comment en effet les impacts mesurés et rapportés par chaque organisation ou secteur d’activité à un niveau individuel peut-il être évalué à un niveau agrégé ? Par rapport à quelles limites et standards fixés ou négociés au niveau national ? Pour mener à bien ce travail un ou plusieurs cas d’études seront mobilisés, dont l’objectif sera de tester la faisabilité de cette articulation et les adaptations nécessaires.

Thèse 2 : Étude et application du modèle CARE à un cas d’exploitations viticoles

Doctorante : Valentine Prévot
Ecole doctorale : SHS-Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne
Direction : Franck-Dominique Vivien (Directeur de thèse), Alexandre Rambaud (co-directeur)
Début : Octobre 2019

Problématique
Etudier la mise en application du modèle comptable CARE (Comprehensive Accounting in Respect of Ecology) (Rambaud & Richard, 2015 ; Richard, 2012 ; Richard, Bensadon, & Rambaud, 2018) dans le cas d’exploitations viticoles rémoises. Le terrain est fourni LVMH, partenaire de la chaire « Comptabilité écologique ».

Résumé du projet de thèse
La thèse étudie la mise en place du modèle comptable CARE dans le cadre d’exploitations viticoles rémoises. Pour cela, elle vise à :
-Fournir une étude du capital-sol et des coûts de maintien rattachés ;
-Mener une analyse économique, comptable et écologique de l’articulation entre le maintien du sol et son usage dans le cadre des exploitations viticoles, à partir du cadre conceptuel de CARE ;
-Croiser données financières et extra-financières (dans le cadre conceptuel de CARE) ;
-Approfondir théoriquement et méthodologiquement le modèle CARE.

Références
Rambaud, A., & Richard, J. (2015). The “Triple Depreciation Line” instead of the “Triple Bottom Line” : Towards a genuine integrated reporting. Critical Perspectives on Accounting, 33, 92–116.
Richard, J. (2012). Comptabilité et Développement Durable. Paris : Economica.
Richard, J., Bensadon, D., & Rambaud, A. (2018). Comptabilité financière (11e ed.). Dunod.

Mémoire de recherche 1 (Master 2) : COP 15 pour la biodiversité et comptabilité écologique : quelles synergies ?

Etudiant : Clément Boyer
Etablissement : Université Paris-Dauphine
Direction : Alexandre Rambaud (Directeur de mémoire), Clément Feger & Harold Levrel (co-directeurs)
Période : Avril-Septembre 2020

Sujet

Evaluer comment, dans le contexte décisionnel de la COP15, il est possible de faire des propositions en matière de comptabilité écologique qui puissent représenter un véritable levier de changement à différents niveaux de gouvernance. Cela se traduira par la construction d’une cartographie des initiatives institutionnelles en matière de comptabilité écologique en durabilité forte. Un temps important sera consacré aux interactions avec les porteurs académiques de la Chaire et avec d’autres acteurs travaillant sur ces sujets. Des liens seront faits entre les projets / ressources scientifiques de la Chaire et associés à la Chaire, et les enjeux politiques en termes de biodiversité, tels qu’ils sont portée dans le cadre de la COP de la CDB.
L’objectif est de produire un document qui mette en lumière :
- Les innovations/propositions qu’il est possible de recenser en 2020 en matière de comptabilité écologiques, aux trois échelles (organisation, écosystème, État) ;
- De discuter ces propositions au regard des objectifs fixés par la COP15 ;
- De mettre en avant l’adéquation ou l’inadéquation entre les objectifs de la COP15 pour la biodiversité et des propositions en matière de comptabilité écologique ;
- De faire des propositions émanent du projet scientifique de la chaire.

Développement et expérimentation de l’outil ESGAP en Nouvelle Calédonie

Développement et expérimentation de l’outil ESGAP en Nouvelle Calédonie, en collaboration avec l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD), WWF France, University College of London (UCL).

Chaire Comptabilité écologique :
Harold Levrel > Responsable du projet
Adrien Comte > Chercheur principal
Clément Surun > Appui technique

Periode : 2020-2021

Résumé du projet

Adrien Comte et Clément Surun réalisent une étude dont l’objectif est de construire un tableau de bord d’indicateurs de durabilité pour la Nouvelle-Calédonie, l’ESGAP (Environmental Sustainability Gap).
Cette étude est faite dans le cadre d’un partenariat de recherche avec l’AFD et le WWF, pour une durée de 6 mois. L’ESGAP, développé initialement par l’équipe de Paul Ekins (UCL), s’apparente à un système de comptabilité nationale simplifié car il vise une certaine exhaustivité et il existe une cohérence entre les indicateurs environnementaux choisis : durabilité de l’usage des ressources, niveau de pollution que l’environnement peut éliminer sans dommage, état de la biodiversité, impacts sur la santé humaine. De plus, la référence explicite à des objectifs scientifiques (limites planétaires, seuils de capital naturel critique) et les modalités d’agrégation de l’indicateur final classent l’ESGAP dans la durabilité forte. Un travail de terrain consiste à récolter les données nécessaires, adapter l’outil aux besoins locaux et discuter de sa pérennisation dans le temps. Ainsi, plusieurs indicateurs centraux vont être créés. La méthode et le pilote construit sera transmis aux acteurs locaux en vue d’une pérennisation.

Projets associés à la Chaire

Les projets associés à la Chaire représentent l’ensemble des projets impliquant un ou plusieurs membres de la Chaire, en collaboration avec une ou plusieurs structures partenaires ou non de la Chaire. Ces projets sont financés partiellement ou intégralement par le biais de financements externes, et portent sur des thématiques intéressant la Chaire, selon un principe de durabilité forte. Ces projets peuvent prendre la forme de groupes de travail, de projets de recherche (par le biais de thèses, de post-doctorats) ou d’organisation et d’animation de séminaires et colloques scientifiques.

Groupe de travail : Économie et biodiversité

Pilotage du groupe de travail (GT) « Économie et Biodiversité » en association avec l’Observatoire National de la Biodiversité (ONB)

Chaire Comptabilité écologique :
Harold Levrel > Co-animateur du GT, expert en économie de la biodiversité
Aurélien Oosterlinck > Co-animateur et coordinateur du GT, membre du comité éditorial de l’ONB

ONB :
Julien Massetti > Chef de projet stratégie des ONB
Stanislas Wroza > Chef de projet coordination opérationnelle de l’ONB

Periode : 2020-2022

Résumé du projet

Le groupe de travail « Économie et Biodiversité », lancé en octobre 2019 pour une durée initiale de 3 ans, se donne pour mission de développer des indicateurs économiques et opérationnels de la biodiversité, capables de :
- Rendre compte de la dépendance de l’économie à la biodiversité
- Assurer un suivi des pressions de l’économie sur la biodiversité
- Assurer un suivi des objectifs de politiques publiques en termes de biodiversité
- Communiquer sur les enjeux jugés centraux et prioritaires auprès du grand public et des décideurs
- Servir d’outils d’aide à la décision

Le groupe rassemble une large diversité d’acteurs, parmi lesquels : chercheurs, économistes, écologues, chargés de mission DD / RSE, membres du service statistique du ministère en charge de l’environnement, de l’Office Français pour la Biodiversité (OFB), de bureaux d’étude et de conseils.

Il se réunit 3 fois par an. Les indicateurs sont développés ou actualisés dans le cadre des réunions du GT puis soumis à évaluation et validation au comité éditorial de l’ONB, avant d’être publiés. L’ensemble des indicateurs est enfin passé au crible puis hiérarchisé, selon différents critères (pertinence, robustesse, objectivité), par la Fondation pour la Recherche sur la Biodiversité (FRB) dans le cadre du Conseil Technique et Scientifique (CRT). Les fiches indicateurs, ainsi que les autres productions du GT, sont publiés sur le site internet de l’ONB. > Indicateurs de l’ONB

Mémoire de fin d’études : "Réflexions théoriques sur l’articulation du modèle de comptabilité de gestion écosystème-centré avec le modèle CARE"

Etudiante : Maria Vio Bianca Coronel Fernandez
Etablissement : AgroParisTech
Direction : Clément Feger (directeur du mémoire), Alexandre Rambaud (co-directeur)
Période : Mai-Septembre 2020

Sujet

Il s’agit de poursuivre le travail déjà amorcé d’articulation entre l’approche des comptabilités de gestion écosystème-centrées et l’approche CARE. L’enjeu est d’avancer vers un système comptable hybride afin d’organiser la prise en compte et la conservation des entités naturelles du niveau de l’entreprise à la gestion collective des écosystèmes. Le travail contribuera a discuter les bases théoriques d’un tel rapprochement et à établir un premier schéma conceptuel articulant les deux modèles comptables proposés. Ce travail théorique sera illustré sur la base de cas simplifiés.

Post-doctorat - Projet MAIA

Chercheur de la Chaire : Harold Levrel (AgroParisTech, CIRED)
Chercheur associé : Adrien Comte, post-doctorant (CIRED)
Periode : 2019-2021

Résumé du projet

Le projet MAIA (Mapping and Assessment for Integrated ecosystem Accounting) est un projet de recherche européen qui a pour but d’expérimenter des comptes d’écosystèmes et de capital naturel et de les pérenniser dans les systèmes de comptabilité nationaux des pays membres de l’Union Européenne.

MAIA est un projet de recherche européen H2020, qui démarre en 2019 pour une durée de 4 ans. Coordonné par l’université Wageningen aux Pays-Bas, il regroupe des partenaires de 10 pays d’Europe, dont des organismes de recherche, mais également des instituts de statistiques et des organisations européennes (Eurostat par exemple). Le but du projet est de mener à bien des expérimentations de la méthodologie développée par les Nations Unis, le SEEA- EEA (System for Environment-Economic Accounting – Experimental Ecosystem Accounts) afin de raffiner cette méthodologie pour mieux connecter les évaluations des écosystèmes à la comptabilité économique classique. Ce but se décline en quatre objectifs :

1) Établir des réseaux nationaux et internationaux entre les instituts statistiques, les autres branches des gouvernements, et les experts travaillant sur l’économie écologique et les écosystèmes.
2) Tester et évaluer les approches en cours de développement pour compiler des comptes dans le cadre du SEEA-EEA des Nations Unis.
3) Produire des documents techniques et partager les expériences pour améliorer le développement de comptes d’écosystèmes.
4) Améliorer l’accès aux bases de données nécessaire au développement de la comptabilité des écosystèmes.

Des études de cas dans les pays partenaires seront conduites pour mener à bien ces quatre objectifs. En France, AgroParisTech, dans le cadre d’une collaboration entre le laboratoire CIRED, le Ministère pour la Transition Ecologique et Solidaire, ainsi que d’autres partenaires académiques et publiques, va réaliser une étude sur la comptabilité des écosystèmes marins. Il s’agira de développer des comptes d’étendue des écosystèmes marins, de leur condition, et du coût économique de la dégradation de ces écosystèmes.

La réunion de lancement du projet a eu lieu à l’Université Wageningen, aux Pays-Bas, du 30 au 31 janvier 2019. Cette réunion a permis à tous les partenaires Européens de se rencontrer, de programmer les activités du projet, de coordonner entre les équipes pour collaborer efficacement, et d’échanger sur les expérimentations en cours dans les différents pays membres de l’Union Européenne.